Notice of Board Nominations

Dear Cornell Alumni,
On Monday, May 7th at the Saturn Club, the Cornell Club of Greater Buffalo will be holding its Annual Meeting in conjunction with a faculty lecture by Cornell Professor Brian R. Davis, Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture, CALS.   Registration is filling up quickly, reserve your spot today!
As part of the Annual Meeting, we will vote on this year’s new Board Directors and Officers:


Board Nominees – for terms ending 6/30/2020
R. Kent Roberts ‘94 – Cornell Law School
Partner, Hodgson Russ LLP
VP of Programming
Catherine March ’14 – MS, Engineering
Optimization Modeler, Rich Products
Past President
Jack McGowan ‘80 – College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
Project Manager, Insyte Consulting & Executive Director, Western New York Venture Association/Buffalo Angels; Advisory Board, Cornell ILR Extension High Road Advisory Committee; Board Member, Cornell Cooperative Extension of Erie County; CAAAN Volunteer
Jennifer Warner ‘04 – Engineering
Manager, Global Talent, Deloitte; Cornell Engineering Alumni Association, Class of 2004, Leadership Development Task Force, Council

Mark Beardi ’94 – College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
Financial Advisor, SY Associates; Cornell Buffalo Business Network

Matthew E. Fortna DMD ’95 – College of Arts & Sciences
Orthodontist, Family Orthodontics, Fredonia, NY

Alyssa Jones – ‘17 – Cornell Law School
Litigation Associate at Bond, Schoeneck & King PLLC
Bar Association of Erie County, Young Lawyers Committee; Buffalo Niagara Partnership, BN 360

Matthew Nagowski ‘05 – Industrial and Labor Relations
Group Vice President, M&T Bank; Board Chair, Partnership for the Public Good; Adjunct Lecturer, Buffalo State College Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics; CAAAN Chair, Buffalo and Niagara Counties; Interim Chair, Cornell High Road Advisory Committee; Director-At-Large, Class of 2005

Liam O’Mahony ’96 – College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
Freelance Writer, Clarence Toastmaster and Member of Amherst Recreation Commission; Former Class of 1996 Council Officer

Brian Sullivan ‘16 – College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
Sales engineer for KOM Automation; Active member of the Cornell Lacrosse Alumni Association; CAAAN Volunteer

Kristin (Kricky) Szczepaniec ’13 – Master of Public Administration, CIPA ‘13
Collaboration and Research Specialist for Buffalo Commons—a joint collaboration between Cornell in Buffalo and Partnership for the Public Good

Returning Board Members -terms ending 6/30/2019

• David Meade ‘81 – Engineering
Associate Director, Energy Management, Praxair; CAAAN Committee 155 Chair

Celinda Crego ‘79 – College of Human Ecology
Consultant-Certified Food Scientist
Erin Decker ‘12 – Johnson School
NYS admitted attorney, NYS Bar Association; Women’s Bar Association of New York
Sarah Piskun ‘05 – Industrial and Labor Relations
Associate Partner – Aon Hewitt Consulting; Prior member of Cornell Club in Fairfield County and NYC
Kelly Scherer ‘11 – Charles H. Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management
Project Manager, Treasury, M&T Bank; Past Board Member of the Cornell Club of New Hampshire
Tess Williams ‘15 – Hotel Administration
Project Manager – Ontario Specialty Contracting, Inc.; CAAAN, COE, HEC

If you would like to petition for a change to the nominations above, please submit a written petition of any sixteen members to Jack McGowan (Secretary) or Kent Roberts (Chair, Nominating Committee) no later than May 1.  Nominations may not be made from the floor at the annual meeting.
Respectfully Submitted,
Jack McGowan, Secretary (
Kent Roberts, President (